BY SPNW Staff 02:13PM 04/24/2012

Greg Lewis, Clarence Williams Make HOF Ballot

Two premier running backs, Greg Lewis (UW) and Clarence Williams (WSU), will find out in May if they are included in the 2012 College Football Hall of Fame class.

Former University of Washington running back Greg Lewis is among 76 players nominated for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame / UW photo

Former running backs Greg Lewis (1987-90) of Washington and Clarence Williams (1962-64) of Washington State are among 76 nominees on the 2012 Football Bowl Subdivision ballot for induction into the College Football Hall of Fame. The class of inductees will be announced May 15 and formally inducted during a ceremony in New York Dec. 4. Fourteen players will be selected from among 76 nominees, a group that includes running backs Charles Alexander of LSU, Otis Armstrong of Purdue, Eric Dickerson of Southern Methodist, D.J. Dozier of Penn State, Bobby Humphrey of Alabama, Dick Jauron of Yale, Rob Lytle of Michigan, Paul Palmer of Temple and Lorenzo White of Michigan State.

Lewis made first-team All-America as a senior in 1990, when he was also the Pac-10 Offensive Player of the Year and the Doak Walker award winner. Lewis finished seventh in 1990 Heisman Trophy voting.

Lewis ran for 2,903 yards, with a high of 1,434 and eight touchdowns in 1990, which he capped with a 129-yard performance against Iowa in the Rose Bowl. Lewis had his best statistical game as a senior against Oregon, rushing for 176 yards and a touchdown. He produced 15 100-yard rushing games.

Williams, a Renton High product, made first-team All-America and first-team All-Conference in 1964. He twice led the Cougars in rushing, scoring and kickoff returns. Williams represented the Cougars in the Hula Bowl, East-West Shrine and All-West Coast All-Star Games in 1964.

Washington has 11 players and four coaches enshrined in the College Football Hall of Fame. Defensive lineman Steve Emtman is the last player to enter the Hall, in 2007. Don James is the last coach, inducted 1997.

Five individuals associated with Washington State are in the College Football Hall of Fame, including coaches Forest Evashevski and Orin “Babe” Hollingbery and players Turk Edwards, Mel Hein and Rueben Mayes.


Comments are closed.