BY SPNW Staff 02:30PM 12/06/2011

Man of the Year Winners (1935-76)

Launched by influential Seattle Post-Intelligencer editor/columnist Royal Brougham in 1936, the “Man of the Year” sports awards program quickly evolved into a civic institution.

Bobby Morris, a Broadway High grad and prominent football/basketball referee, won the first Man of the Year award in 1935. / Photo courtesy of the Museum of History and Industry (MOHAI), Seattle Post-Intelligencer collection

The inspiration for the “Man of the Year” sports awards program came from a question posed by Royal Brougham in his Seattle Post-Intelligencer column of Feb. 23, 1936. “Who,” Brougham asked his readers, “had the most impact on local sports in 1935?” After a month of voting, Brougham announced the first Man of the Year winner on March 11, 1936. The following individuals won the award through 1976, after which the name of the program was changed to Sports Star of the Year.

1935 Bobby Morris Referee Refereed eight Rose Bowls, including ’35
1936 Al Ulbrickson Rowing His UW eight won 1936 gold in Berlin
1937 John Cherberg Coach Coached Cleveland to city football title
1938 Fred Hutchinson Baseball 25-game winner for Seattle Rainiers
1939 Dean McAdams Football Best player on ’39 UW football team
1940 Dick Barrett Baseball 24-5 record, pitched Rainiers to pennant
1941 Click Clark Trainer 28 years as UW athletic trainer
1942 Ted Garhart Rowing Stroked UW crew to undefeated season
1943 Hec Edmundson Basketball UW basketball team had 24-7 record
1944 Jim McCurdy Football Led UW to 1944 Rose Bowl vs. USC
1945 Harry Givan Golf NW star created Seattle Open
1946 Steve Morrisey Sportsman Pressed for conservation reforms
1947 Leon Brigham Administrator Athletic director of Seattle high schools
1948 George Pocock Rowing Designed revolutionary race shells
1949 Gordon Glisson Horse Racing Took Santa Anita by storm in 1948-49
1950 Stan Sayers Hydros Won the 1950 Gold Cup hydroplane race
1951 Hugh McElhenny Football First-team All-America by the AP
1952 Johnny O’Brien Basketball 1st collegian to score 1,000 points
1953 Arnie Weinmeister Football Named All-NFL for the fourth time
1954 Arnold Riegger Sportsman Won 1954 Grand American Trapshoot
1955 Pat Lesser Golf Captured U.S. Women’s Amateur
1956 P. Rademacher Boxing Heavyweight boxing gold in Melbourne
1957 J. Gunderson Golf Won U.S. Women’s Amateur at age 18
1958 Elgin Baylor Basketball 31.2 points, 19.8 rebounds for Seattle U.
1959 Jim Owens Basketball Coached UW to 44-8 win in Rose Bowl
1960 Don McKeta Football Led UW to 17-7 win in Rose Bowl
1961 Anne Quast Golf Won second U.S. Women’s Amateur
1962 Bill Muncey Hydros Won prestigious Gold Cup race
1963 Brian Sternberg Track Broke world pole vault record 3 times
Jim Whitaker Outdoorsman First American to summit Mount Everest
1964 Rick Redman Football Led UW to Rose Bowl vs. Illinois
1965 John Goodwin Coach Led Seattle Prep to No. 1 football ranking
1966 Eddie Cotton Golf Ended career fighting for light-heavy title
1967 Harvey Lanman Administrator Installed artificial turf in Memorial Stadium
1968 Kaye Hall Swimming Won two golds at 1968 Summer Olympics
1969 Tommy Harper Baseball Starred for the expansion Seattle Pilots
1970 Doris Heritage Track SPU track star set several world records
1971 Lynn Colella Swimming Won 2 golds at Pan Am Games
Rick Colella Swimming Won 1 gold at Pan Am Games
1972 Tom Gorman Tennis Achieved No. 2 U.S. national tennis rank
1973 Spencer Haywood Basketball Averaged 26.2 points, NBA All-Star
Bill Fenton Softball Led Pay ‘n Pak in national fastpitch
Calvin Jones Football AP football All-America, UW Player of Year
1974 Earl Anthony Bowling First to win $100,000 on PBA tour
1975 Marv Harshman Coach Coached U.S. to gold in Pan Am Games
1976 Slick Watts Basketball First Sonic on All-Defensive team


Star Of The Year Winners (1977-10)


All-Time Nominees

1935-39 1940-49 1950-59 1960-69 1970-79

1980-89 1990-99 2000-09 2010-present


Comments are closed.