BY SPNW Staff 12:30PM 01/11/2013

Ex-O’Dea Star Becomes First Homegrown Sounder

DeAndre Yedlin is the first homegrown player inked by Sounders FC.  A 19-year-old from O’Dea High School, Yedlin played for the University of Akron the past two seasons. He graduated from the Sounders FC Academy in 2010-11.

“We are thrilled to sign DeAndre as our first homegrown player,” said owner and GM Adrian Hanauer in a club releaase. “Darren Sawatzky and Dick McCormick deserve much of the credit, as they have developed a top academy program for Sounders FC.  Hopefully, DeAndre is the first of many local players who will come through our system and wear the rave green at the professional level.”

Yedlin was honored on the All-Mid-America Conference first team in his two seasons with the Zips and was named to the College Soccer News Freshman All-America team in 2011.

“It’s amazing to start my professional career in a place where I started playing soccer in the first place,” said Yedlin. “I’m excited to be able to perform in front of all the fans. It’s the best place to play in the United States — one of the best in the world, I think.”

Yedlin appeared in 45 games for Akron over the past two seasons, making 41 starts. He finished his college career with 12 assists, including six last season, ranking third on the team. The right back had four assists during a five-match stretch in 2012 and recorded four game-winning assists in his freshman season.

Prior to playing at Akron, Yedlin led O’Dea to three state championships in 2005, 2008 and 2009. Yedlin was invited to the U.S. Soccer U18 Men’s National training camp and the 2010 SuperElite International Showcase. He participated on the ODP state team from 2006-09 and was named to the USSDA 93 Academy Select Team in 2009 and 2010.

Yedlin was ranked seventh in the nation among all 2011 recruits by Top Drawer Soccer and 12th by College Soccer News.


  • John

    Please get your information right – O’Dea’s last and only WIAA state championship in boys soccer came in 1990. Not sure where you are getting 2005, 2008 and 2009 from.