BY SPNW Staff 11:19AM 06/17/2014

NFL writers name Seahawks’ Wilson ‘Good Guy’

Russell Wilson had his cooperative nature confirmed by writers who regularly cover the NFL when they named the Seahawks the winner of the 10th annual “Good Guy” award. The Pro Football Writers of America annually selects a player whose qualities and professional style help pro football writers do their jobs.

Wilson is the first Seahawks player to win the award and the sixth quarterback.

As his profile grew with team success, Wilson regularly made himself available to local and visiting writers and provided complete, even if repetitive, answers, never losing his cool in interview situations. And he has been active in community events and causes.

Wilson became the fourth second-year quarterback and the third-youngest QB to capture a Super Bowl title when the Seahawks beat Denver 43-8 in Super Bowl XLVIII.

“Russell’s work with Children’s Hospital, even during the season, is fairly well-known. I think he has a larger impact on the Seattle area, though, with the messages he sends out during every interview,” said Dave Boling, columnist for the Tacoma News Tribune. “The classic underdog, Wilson is a walking example of the value of determination and diligence. He often recounts the messages of his father: Family, teamwork, sportsmanship.

“He has played himself into a position as the face of the Seahawks franchise, but he is also the voice and conscience of it, too.”

During the regular season, he completed 257 of 407 passes (63.1 percent) for 3,357 yards, 26 touchdowns and only nine interceptions as the Seahawks finished 13-3 as the NFC’s No. 1 seed. He also rushed 96 times for 539 yards and one touchdown.

In three playoff wins, Wilson completed 43 of 68 passes (63.2 percent) for 524 yards, three touchdowns and no interceptions, and rushed 11 times for 42 yards.

Wilson led five fourth-quarter/overtime comebacks in 2013, including an eight-play, 62-yard touchdown drive in the NFC Championship against San Francisco. His 35-yard TD pass to Jermaine Kearse on a fourth-and-7 play with 13:44 left erased a 17-13 49ers lead on the way to a 23-17 victory.

Previous winners

2005 — Jerome Bettis (Pittsburgh Steelers); 2006 — Tiki Barber (New York Giants); 2007 — LaDainian Tomlinson (San Diego Chargers); 2008 — Brett Favre (Green Bay Packers); 2009 — Kurt Warner (Arizona Cardinals); 2010 — Drew Brees (New Orleans Saints); 2011 — Aaron Rodgers (Green Bay Packers); 2012 — Tim Tebow (Denver Broncos); 2013 — Tony Gonzalez (Atlanta Falcons).


  • Big

    Congrats to Wilson. And in another story Marshawn Lynch was listed as missing in action during press interviews during the season, but listed as an honorable mention recipient for his Super Bowl interviews.