BY SPNW Staff 07:08PM 07/19/2014

Alonso, Marshall make 5 Sounders All-Stars

Chad Marshall and midfielder Osvaldo Alonso were selected Saturday to the MLS All-Stars, giving the Sounders a league-high five players, most in club history. Clint Dempsey, Obafemi Martins and DeAndre Yedlin were named to the Fan XI earlier in the week.

The MLS All-Stars meet Bayern Munich at 6:30 p.m. Aug. 6 at Providence Park in Portland. The game will be telecast on ESPN2, UniMas, TSN and RDS.

Alonso earned his fourth All-Star selection in a row. He ranks second among field players with 1,522 minutes played, starting 17 of 18 matches. He wssnamed the team MVP four consecutive years (2010-13) and is the club’s all-time leader in games played (156), starts (152) and minutes (13,361).

Marshall was named to the team for the third time in his career (2009 and 2010). In his first season in Seattle, Marshall leads all field players with 1,530 minutes played. He has scored one game-winning goal and has added two assists in 17 appearances.

Besides the Sounders, MLS Commissioner Don Garber named Portland Timbers’ midfielder Diego Valeri and Chivas USA forward Erick Torres.

Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Martins (Seattle Sounders FC), and Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls) received their first All-Star selections. Ten of the 19 MLS teams are represented on the roster.

2014 MLS All-Star Roster

 Goalkeeper: Bill Hamid (D.C. United), Nick Rimando (Real Salt Lake)

Defenders: Matt Besler (Sporting Kansas City), Aurélien Collin (Sporting Kansas City), Omar Gonzalez (LA Galaxy), Chad Marshall (Seattle Sounders FC), Michael Parkhurst (Columbus Crew), DeAndre Yedlin (Seattle Sounders FC)

Midfielders: Osvaldo Alonso (Seattle Sounders FC), Kyle Beckerman (Real Salt Lake), Michael Bradley (Toronto FC), Tim Cahill (New York Red Bulls), Clint Dempsey (Seattle Sounders FC), Will Johnson (Portland Timbers), Diego Valeri (Portland Timbers), Graham Zusi (Sporting Kansas City)

Forwards: Jermain Defoe (Toronto FC), Landon Donovan (LA Galaxy), Thierry Henry (New York Red Bulls), Robbie Keane (LA Galaxy), Obafemi Martins (Seattle Sounders FC), Erick Torres (Chivas USA), Bradley Wright-Phillips (New York Red Bulls)


Comments are closed.