BY SPNW Staff 01:08PM 01/02/2015

Sherman, Thomas, Wagner named AP All-Pro

CB Richard Sherman and S Earl Thomas made first-team All-Pro Friday for the third time each, and LB Bobby Wagner was selected for the first time.

Bobby Wagner joined Richard Sherman and Earl Thomas on the Associated Press All-Pro team. / Drew Sellers, Sportspress Northwest

Three Seahawks — cornerback Richard Sherman, safety Earl Thomas and linebacker Bobby Wagner — made the 2014 Associated Press NFL All-Pro first team announced Friday. Thomas and Sherman are repeaters from 2013 and Wagner is a first-time choice despite missing five games with injuries.

“I’m on such a great defense that sometimes there are guys that get overlooked,” Wagner told the wire service. “But I think of all the things that happened this year as far as awards and recognition and stuff like that, it means so much more to me because of everything I went through this year.”

The Associated Press first team features 16 players from the AFC and 11 from the NFC, including four from NFC East champion Dallas Cowboys. Houston DT J.J. Watt was a unanimous choice, listed on all 50 ballots by a panel of media members. The only other unanimous pick was New England TE Rob Gronkowski.

The AP team is generally considered the most prestigious of the post-season awards.

Green Bay’s Aaron Rodgers edged Tony Romo of the Dallas Cowboys for the quarterback slot. Rodgers, with 44 votes, was also first-team All-Pro in 2011. Denver Peyton Manning did not receive a single vote.

Thomas and Sherman are first-team All-Pros for the third consecutive season. Hall of Fame tackle Walter Jones (1997-08) is the only Seahawks player to make four All-Pro teams. Sherman received 41 (out of 50) votes while Thomas collected 39. Wagner received 31.

RB Marshawn Lynch, a first-team All-Pro in 2012, made the AP’s second All-Pro team with seven votes while S Kam Chancellor also made second team with 19. Lynch has rushed for 1,306 yards and scored a career-high 17 touchdowns (13 rushing).

Only two other Seahawks received votes: DE Michael Bennett 3, and OG James Carpenter 1.

Below is the complete voting breakdown with all players who received at least one vote of a possible 50.


First team: Aaron Rodgers, Green Bay, 44.
Second team: Tony Romo, Dallas, 3.
Others receiving votes: Tom Brady, New England, 2; Andrew Luck, Indianapolis, 1.

Running Backs
First team: DeMarco Murray, Dallas, 48; Le’Veon Bell, Pittsburgh, 44.
Second team: Marshawn Lynch, Seattle, 7. (One voter selected only one running back.)

First team: John Kuhn, Green Bay, 18.
Second team: Anthony Sherman, Kansas City, 14.
Others receiving votes: Marcel Reece, Oakland, 12; Bruce Miller, San Francisco, 3; Marshawn Lynch, Seattle, 1; Kyle Juszczyk, Baltimore, 1. (One voter did not select a fullback.)

Tight End
First team: Rob Gronkowski, New England, 50.

Wide Receivers
First team: Antonio Brown, Pittsburgh, 49; Dez Bryant, Dallas, 24.
Second team: Jordy Nelson, Green Bay, 15; Demaryius Thomas, Denver, 11.
Others receiving votes: Odell Beckham Jr., New York Giants, 1.

First team: Tyron Smith, Dallas, 35; Joe Thomas, Cleveland, 22.
Second team: Andrew Whitworth, Cincinnati, 14; Jason Peters, Philadelphia, 12.
Others receiving votes: Ryan Clady, Denver, 4; Sebastian Vollmer, New England, 3; Joe Staley, San Francisco, 3; Ricky Wagner, Baltimore, 2; Trent Williams, Washington, 1; Lane Johnson, Philadelphia, 1; Jared Veldheer, Arizona, 1; Bryan Bulaga, Green Bay, 1; Louis Vasquez, Denver, 1.

First team: Marshal Yanda, Baltimore, 38; Zach Martin, Dallas, 24.
Second team: Josh Sitton, Green Bay, 22; Kyle Long, Chicago, 5.
Others receiving votes: Mike Iupati, San Francisco, 4; Evan Mathis, Philadelphia, 2; Jahri Evans, New Orleans, 2; Joel Bitonio, Cleveland, 1; Dan Connolly, New England, 1; James Carpenter, Seattle, 1.

First team: Maurkice Pouncey, Pittsburgh, 21.
Second team: Travis Frederick, Dallas, 14.
Others receiving votes: Nick Mangold, New York Jets, 7; Jason Kelce, Philadelphia, 5; Corey Linsley, Green Bay, 1; Rodney Hudson, Kansas City, 1; Ryan Kalil, Carolina, 1.

First team: Adam Vinatieri, Indianapolis, 25.
Second team: Stephen Gostkowski, New England, 21.
Others receiving votes: Matt Bryant, Atlanta, 1; Dan Bailey, Dallas, 1; Chandler Catanzaro, Arizona, 1; Justin Tucker, Baltimore, 1.

Kick Returner
First team: Adam Jones, Cincinnati, 17.
Second team: Darren Sproles, Philadelphia, 15.
Others receiving votes: Devin Hester, Atlanta, 14; Jacoby Jones, Baltimore, 3; De’Anthony Thomas, Kansas City, 1.


First team: J.J. Watt, Houston, 45; Mario Williams, Buffalo, 24.
Second team: Calais Campbell, Arizona, 11; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia, 5.
Others receiving votes: Cameron Wake, Miami, 5; Michael Bennett, Seattle, 3; Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore, 3; Everson Griffen, Minnesota, 1; Jerry Hughes, Buffalo, 1; Robert Quinn, St. Louis, 1; Muhammad Wilkerson, New York Jets, 1.

First team: Ndamukong Suh, Detroit, 41; Marcell Dareus, Buffalo, 24.
Second team: Gerald McCoy, Tampa Bay, 13; J.J. Watt, Houston, 5.
Others receiving votes: Kyle Williams, Buffalo, 4; Aaron Donald, St. Louis, 4; Sheldon Richardson, New York Jets, 4; Sen’Derrick Marks, Jacksonville, 2; Fletcher Cox, Philadelphia, 2; Calais Campbell, Arizona, 1.

Outside Linebackers
First team: Justin Houston, Kansas City, 47; Elvis Dumervil, Baltimore, 13.
Second team: Von Miller, Denver, 11; Connor Barwin, Philadelphia, 11.
Others receiving votes: DeAndre Levy, Detroit, 7; Clay Matthews, Green Bay, 5; Ryan Kerrigan, Washington, 3; Lavonte David, Tampa Bay, 2; Terrell Suggs, Baltimore, 1.

Inside Linebacker
First team: Luke Kuechly, Carolina, 43; Bobby Wagner, Seattle, 31.
Second team: C.J. Mosley, Baltimore, 9; DeAndre Levy, Detroit, 4; Lawrence Timmons, Pittsburgh, 4.
Others receiving votes: Jamie Collins, New England, 2; Dont’a Hightower, New England, 2; D’Qwell Jackson, Indianapolis, 1; Brandon Marshall, Denver, 1; Clay Matthews, Green Bay, 1; Larry Foote, Arizona, 1; Mychal Kendricks, Philadelphia 1.

First team: Darrelle Revis, New England, 42; Richard Sherman, Seattle, 41.
Second team: Chris Harris Jr., Denver, 9; Brent Grimes, Miami, 4.
Others receiving votes: Vontae Davis, Indianapolis, 2; Aqib Talib, Denver, 1; Joe Haden, Cleveland, 1.

First team: Earl Thomas, Seattle, 39; Eric Weddle, San Diego, 16.
Second team: Kam Chancellor, Seattle, 14; Glover Quin, Detroit, 13.
Others receiving votes: Harrison Smith, Minnesota, 7; Antoine Bethea, San Francisco, 5; Devin McCourty, New England, 2; Tashaun Gipson, Cleveland, 2; Charles Woodson, Oakland, 1; Rashad Johnson, Arizona, 1.

First team: Pat McAfee, Indianapolis, 26.
Second team: Johnny Hekker, St. Louis, 12.
Others receiving votes: Sam Koch, Baltimore, 8; Kevin Huber, Cincinnati, 2; Bryan Anger, Jacksonville, 1. (One voter did not select a punter.)






Comments are closed.