BY SPNW Staff 08:25AM 12/02/2015

Emtman, Kennedy, Hanson make All-Century

Washington’s Steve Emtman and Lincoln Kennedy and Washington State’s Jason Hanson were named to the Pac-12’s All-Century football team.

University of Washington DT Steve Emtman won the 1991 Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award. / David Eskenazi Collectio

Washington’s Steve Emtman (1989-91) and Lincoln Kennedy (1991-94) and Washington State’s Jason Hanson (1988-91) were named to the Pac-12 Conference’s All-Century Football Team Tuesday. A panel of players, coaches and media selected 50 players and a head coach from a pool of 125 eligible players and 10 head coaches.

Former Stanford quarterback John Elway (1979-82) was selected the Psc-12’s Offensive Player of the Century and CB Ronnie Lott of USC (1977-80) was named Defensive Player of the Century.

Seven other Huskies (QB Warren Moon, RB Hugh McElhenny, TEs Austin Seferian-Jenkins and Mark Bruener, S Lawyer Milloy and kickers Chuck Nelson and Jeff Jaeger) were finalists, along with three ex-Cougars (T Mel Hein, DT Keith Millard and CB Marcus Trufant).

Washington’s Don James was a coaching finalist along with Seahawks coach Pete Carroll, cited for his work at USC. John McKay of the Trojans was named All-Century head coach.

Emtman won the Outland Trophy and Lombardi Award in 1991 when, as a unanimous All-America selection, he helped lead the Huskies to a share of the national championship. Emtman made the College Football Foundation Hall of Fame in 2007.

A tackle, Kennedy made All-America in 1991-92 and was elected to the College Football Foundation Hall of Fame earlier this year.

Hanson set dozens of conference kicking records during his time with the Cougars and was a consensus All-America in 1989. He beat out Nelson and Jaeger, for the top spot.


Quarterback: John Elway, Stanford (1979-82). Finalists: Marcus Mariota, Oregon (2012-14); Jim Plunkett, Stanford (1968-70); Andrew Luck, Stanford (2009-11); Matt Leinart, USC (2003-05); Troy Aikman, UCLA (1987-88); Carson Palmer, USC (1998-02); Gary Beban, UCLA (1965-67); Terry Baker, Oregon State (1960-62); Warren Moon, Washington (1975-77).

Running backs: Marcus Allen, USC (1978-81); O.J. Simpson (1967-68). Finalists: Charles White, USC (1976-79); Reggie Bush, USC (2003-05); Mike Garrett, USC (1963-65); Ernie Nevers, Stanford (1923-25); Anthony Davis, USC (1972-74); Hugh McElhenny, Washington (1949-51); Chuck Muncie, California (1973-75); Ricky Bell, USC (1974-76).

Wide receivers: Keyshawn Johnson, USC (1994-95); Lynn Swann, USC (1971-73). Finalists: Marqise Lee, USC (2011-13); J.J. Stokes, UCLA (1991-94); Ken Margerum, Stanford (1977-80); Tony Walters, Stanford (1996-99); James Lofton, Stanford (1975-77); Brandin Cooks, Oregon State (2011-13); DeSean Jackson, California (2005-07); Mike Williams, USC (2002-03).

Tight ends: Tony Gonzalez, California (1994-96). Finalists: Charles Young, USC (1970-72); Mercedes Lewis, UCLA (2002-05); Rob Gronkowski, Arizona (2007-08); Todd Heap, Arizona State (1998-00); Russ Francis, Oregon (1972-73); Zach Ertz, Stanford (2010-12); Fred Davis, USC (2004-07); Austin Seferian-Jenkins, Washington (2011-13); Mark Bruener, Washington (1991-94).

Offensive line: Jonathan Ogden, UCLA (1992-95); Ron Yary, USC (1965-67); Tony Boselli, USC (1991-94); Anthony Munoz, USC (1976-79), Lincoln Kennedy, Washington (1991-94). Finalists: Brad Budde, USC (1976-79); Randall McDaniel, Arizona State (1984-87); Randy Cross, UCLA (1973-75); Bruce Matthews, USC (1980-82); Mel Hein, Washington State (1928-30); Gary Zimmerman, Oregon (1980-83); Bob Whitfield, Stanford (1989-91); Rod Franz, California (1946-69); Sam Baker, USC (2003-07); Marvin Powell, USC (1973-76); Les Richter, California (1949-51); Ron Mix, USC (1957-59); Alex Mack, California (2004-08); Roy Foster, USC (1978-81); Kris Farris, UCLA (1995-98).


Defensive ends: Teddy Bruschi, Arizona (1992-95); Terrell Suggs, Arizona State (2000-01). Finalists: Willie McGinest, USC (1990-93); Andre Carter, California (1997-00); Jim Jeffcoat, Arizona State (1979-82); Shante Carver, Arizona State (1990-93); Marlin McKeever, USC (1958-60); Dave Ball, UCLA (1999-03); Pat Donovan, Stanford (1972-74); Jimmy Gunn, USC (1967-69).

Defensive tackles: Steve Emtman, Washington (1989-91); Haloti Ngata, Oregon (2002-05). Finalists: Rob Waldrop, Arizona (1990-93); Leonard Williams, USC (2012-14); Ed White, California (1966-68); Star Lotulelei, Utah (2012-12); Paul Wiggin, Stanford (1954-56); Sedrick Ellis, USC (2003-07); Gary Jeter, USC (1974-76); Keith Millard, Washington State (1980-83).

Linebackers: Junior Seau, USC (1988-89); Jerry Robinson, UCLA (1975-78); Ricky Hunley, Arizona (1980-83). Finalists: Richard Wood, USC (1972-74); Chris Claiborne, USC (1996-98); Jack Del Rio, USC (1981-84); Pat Tillman, Arizona State (1994-97); Ken Norton, UCLA (1984-87); Rey Maualuga, USC (2005-08); Donn Moomaw, UCLA (1950-52).

Cornerbacks: Joey Browner, USC (1979-82); Mel Renfro, Oregon (1961-63). Finalists: Chris McAlister, Arizona (1996-98); Antoine Cason, Arizona (2004-07); Mike Richardson, Arizona State (1979-82); Eric Allen, Arizona State (1984-87); Darryll Lewis, Arizona (1987-90); Deltha O’Neal, California (1996-99); Marcus Trufant, Washington State (1999-02); Jimmy Johnson, UCLA (1958-60).

Safeties: Ronnie Lott, USC (1977-80); Kenny Easley, UCLA (1977-80). Finalists: Troy Polamalu, USC (1999-02); Mark Carrier, USC (1987-89); Chuck Cecil, Arizona (1984-87); Tim McDonald, USC (1983-86); David Fulcher, Arizona State (1983-85); John Lynch, Stanford (1989-92); Dennis Thurman, USC (1974-77); Lawyer Milloy, Washington (1993-95).


Kickers: Jason Hanson, Washington State (1988-91). Finalists: Luis Zendejas, Arizona State (1981-84); John Lee, UCLA (1982-85); Chuck Nelson, Washington (1980-82); Kai Forbath, UCLA (2007-10); Jeff Jaeger, Washington (1983-86); Max Zendejas, Arizona (1982-85); Alexis Serna, Oregon State (2004-07); Steve McLaughlin, Arizona (1991-94); Jim Breech, California (1975-77).

Punters: Tom Hackett, Utah (2012-15). Finalists: Jason Hanson, Washington State (1988-91); Nick Harris, California (1997-00); Bryan Anger, California (2008-11); Tom Malone, USC (2002-05); Ryan Longwell, California (1993-96); Kirk Wilson, UCLA (1956-58); Jeff Locke, UCLA (2009-12); Nick Folk, Arizona (2003-06); Mike Black, Arizona State (1979-82).

Returners: Reggie Bush, USC (2003-05). Finalists: Anthony Davis, USC (1972-74); DeSean Jackson, California (2005-07); DeAnthony Thomas, Oregon (2011-13); Curtis Conway, USC (1990-92); Glyn Milburn, Stanford (1990-92); Maurice Jones-Drew, UCLA (2003-05); Jon Arnett, USC (1954-56); Ty Montgomery, Stanford (2011-14); Deltha O’Neal, California (1996-99).


Head Coach: John McKay, USC (1960-75). Finalists: Don James, Washington (1975-92); Pete Carroll, USC (2001-09); Terry Donahue, UCLA (1976-95); Pop Warner, Stanford (1924-32); John Robinson, USC (1976-97); Howard Jones, USC (1925-40); Tommy Prothro, UCLA (1955-70); Chip Kelly, Oregon (2009-12); Bill Walsh, Stanford (1977-78, 1992-94).


Comments are closed.