BY SPNW Staff 12:29PM 11/29/2016

9 Huskies, 2 Cougars make first-team All-Pac-12

A record nine Washington Huskies and a pair of WSU Cougars were named to the All-Pac-12 first team Tuesday. UW’s Jake Browning earned Offensive Player of the Year.

Jake Browning was named Pac-12 Offensive Player of the Year Tuesday. / Drew McKenzie, Sportspress Northwest

Nine University of Washington players, most in school history, were named to the All-Pac-12 first team announced Tuesday, including quarterback Jake Browning, the Offensive Player of the Year. Ten other Huskies also received recognition, notably DB Taylor Rapp, the league’s Defensive Freshman of the Year. Nine Huskies on the first team is a school record, breaking the mark of eight in 1990.

Washington State placed 10 players on All-Pac-12 teams, including a pair on the first team, WR Gabe Marks and and DB Shalom Luani. Marks (13 receiving TDs) was selected to the first team for the second consecutive year while Luani is WSU’s first, first-team DB since Deone Bucannon in 2013.

Browning, who has thrown for 3,162 yards and a school-record 40 touchdown passes, is the first Washington player to win the player of the year award since QB Marques Tuiasosopo in 2000 and the fifth overall (QB Steve Pelluer, 1983; RB Greg Lewis, 1990; WR Mario Bailey, 1991). Browning is the third player in conference history with 40 or more touchdown throws in a season.

Washington’s other first-team choices on offense: Junior WR John Ross, sophomore RB Myles Gaskin and offensive linemen Trey Adams, a sophomore, and Jake Eldrenkamp, a senior. Ross ranks second nationally with 16 TD receptions and is two shy of Bailey’s school record in 1991. Gaskin has rushed for 1,180 yards and scored 10 times.

Adams and Eldrenkamp are the first Huskies to earn first-team honors on the offensive line since Kyle Benn in 2001.

Washington’s defense, which leads the Pac-12 in fewest points allowed (17.8 ppg) and ranks 10th nationally, placed four players on the first team: Junior DBs Budda Baker and Sidney Jones and junior lineman Elijah Qualls and junior LB Azeem Victor.

Baker and Jones are the first Husky defensive backs to earn first-team accolades in back-to-back years since Nesby Glasgow in 1977 and 1978.

Four other Huskies — OL Coleman Shelton, Jr.; DL Vita Vea, So.; LB Keishawn Bierria, Jr.; RS Dante Pettis, Jr. — earned second-team recognition. Five more — TE Darrell Daniels, DL Greg Grimes, TE Drew Sample, DB Kevin King and LB Psalm Wooching — made honorable mention.

Rapp, a true freshman from Bellingham, is the first Husky defensive player to be tabbed the conference’s top newcomer and joins WR Reggie Williams (2001) and QB Jake Locker (2007) as the only Huskies to earn Freshman Player of the Year recognition.

WSU QB Luke Falk, a first-teamer last year, and DL Hercules Mata’afa made second team. Six other Cougars garnered honorable mention: WR River Cracraft, OL Cole Madison, RB Jamal Morrow, OL Cody O’Connell, LB Peyton Pelluer and OL Riley Sorenson.

Falk has thrown for 4,204 yards and 37 touchdowns.

USC defensive back Adoree’ Jackson was selected the conference’s Defensive Player of the Year while Trojans QB Sam Darnold was named the Offensive Freshman of the Year. Colorado’s Mike MacIntyre won the Coach of the Year award.

The Huskies and Buffaloes meet for the Pac-12 title Friday at 6 p.m. in Santa Clara, CA.




Comments are closed.